Tuesday, October 17, 2017

7:06 The Senate adjourned until 9:30 a.m. October 18, 2017.

The Senate has reached an agreement that following Leader remarks tomorrow, Wednesday, it be in order to call up the following amendments and vote on:

Sanders amendment #1119 (Medicaid)

Hatch amendment #1144 (side-by-side to Sanders)

Senator McConnell announced that senators should be prepared for additional amendment votes to occur during the series.

6:26 p.m. Senator Murray spoke against the budget resolution and oil drilling in ANWR.

6:16 p.m. Senator Markey spoke about shortfalls of the Republican budget resolution.

5:46 p.m. Senator Grassley spoke about tax reform.

5:35 p.m. Senator Kaine spoke about the budget resolution.

4:47 p.m. Senator Lee spoke about the budget resolution.

4:29 p.m. Senator Heinrich spoke about Medicaid and tax reform.

4:08 p.m. Senators Alexander and Murray spoke about health care.

3:35 p.m. Senator Flake spoke on the tax code.

3:15 p.m. Senator Cornyn spoke about the tax code.

3:05 p.m. Senator Hatch spoke about supporting the budget resolution and tax reform.

2:36 p.m. Senator Durbin spoke against the Republican tax reform plan.

2:15 p.m. Senator Enzi offered the substitute Amendment #1116 to H Con Res 71.

2:15 p.m. The Senate returned from recess.

12:42 p.m. The Senate has recessed until 2:15 p.m. for weekly caucus lunches.

12:20 p.m. Senator Sanders spoke on the budget resolution.

12:09 p.m. Senator Enzi began debate on the budget resolution.

12:08 p.m. The motion to proceed to H Con Res 71, budget resolution was agreed to by a party line vote of 50-47. Senators Cochran, Menendez and Shelby did not vote.

11:25 a.m. Roll call vote began on motion to proceed to H Con Res 71, budget resolution.

11:24 a.m. ML McConnell moves to proceed to HR 2810, requests conference and appoints conferees.  Moves to proceed to H Con Res 71.

11:23 a.m. The Trachtenberg nomination was confirmed 79-17.

Senators voting in favor: 49 Republicans, 29 Democrats, 1 Independent (King).

Senators voting against: 16 Democrats and 1 Independent: Baldwin, Booker, Brown, Cantwell, Durbin, Franken, Gillibrand, Harris, Hirono, Leahy, Markey, Merkley, Sanders (I), Schatz, Van Hollen, Warren and Wyden.

Senators not voting: 3 Republicans and 1 Democrat: Cochran, Isakson, Menendez (D) and Shelby.

10:40 a.m. Roll call vote began on confirmation of the Trachtenberg nomination.

10:20 a.m. DL Schumer discussed health care, budget/taxes and the Marino nomination.

10:03 a.m. ML McConnell discussed the budget and tax reform.

10:00 a.m. The Senate convened.


The Senate will convene at 10:00 a.m. and resume consideration of the nomination of David Trachtenberg to be Principal Deputy Under Secretary of Defense.

At approximately 10:30 a.m., the Senate will proceed to a roll call vote on confirmation of the Trachtenberg nomination.

The Senate will recess from 12:30pm until 2:15pm to allow for the weekly caucus luncheons.