Tuesday, January 14, 2020

5:39 p.m. Senator Whitehouse spoke on climate change.

5:31 p.m. Senator Brown spoke on the USMCA.

5:19 p.m. Senator Cramer spoke against the war powers legislation.

4:50 p.m. Senator Rubio spoke on the war powers legislation.

4:45 p.m. Senator Portman spoke on the articles of Impeachment being sent by the House of Representatives and on the Opioid  crisis.

4:35 p.m. Senators Lankford spoke on Iranian attacks and the death of Solemani.

4:00 p.m.  Senators Barrasso and Enzi paid tribute to the life of Geraldine Brown of Wyoming.

3:55 p.m. Senator Barrasso spoke on the committee passing the USMCA legislation.

3:00 p.m. The Senate is in a quorum call.

2:47 p.m. Senator Blackburn spoke on war powers and Iran.

2:43 p.m. Senator Barasso spoke on the USMCA.

2:16 p.m. Senator Cotton spoke on Iran and war powers.

2:15 p.m. The Senate returned from the recess.

12:04 p.m. The Senate recessed to accommodate the caucus luncheons.

12:03 p.m. The Gaynor nomination was confirmed, 81 to 8. 

Senators voting NO: Brown, Gillibrand, Harris, Menendez, Schumer, Stabenow, Udall, and Van Hollen.

Senators NOT VOTING: Booker, Cassidy, Cramer, Inhofe, Johnson, Kennedy, Klobuchar, Markey, Murphy, Sanders, and Warren.

11:29 a.m. Roll call vote began on the nomination of Peter Gaynor to be administrator of FEMA.

11:26 a.m. Senator Reed spoke in support of the Gaynor nomination.

11:12 a.m. Senator Cornyn spoke about impeachment and USMCA.

10:49 a.m. Senator Durbin spoke about impeachment.

10:38 a.m. Senator Thune spoke about the war powers resolution.

10:25 a.m. Minority Leader Schumer spoke about impeachment. He criticized the first phase of the U.S.-China trade deal.

10:03 a.m. Majority Leader McConnell spoke about impeachment. He spoke about the measure on the use of war powers against Iran.


The Senate will convene at 10:00 a.m.  Following any leader remarks, resume consideration of the nomination of  Peter Gaynor to be administrator of FEMA.

At 11:30 a.m., the Senate will vote on confirmation of the Gaynor nomination.

The Senate will recess for the caucus luncheons from 12:30 – 2:15 p.m.