Monday, January 13, 2020

6:49 p.m. The Senate adjourned.

6:46 p.m. ML McConnell wrapped up for the evening.

HR 434, regarding the Emancipation national historic trail was passed by voice vote.  HR 468, regarding Jocelyn Burdick was passed by unanimous consent.

6:04 p.m. Senators Sullivan, Whitehouse and Menendez spoke on protecting oceans and “Save our Seas 2.0”.

6:01 p.m. Cloture was invoked on the Gaynor nomination, 76-8.

Senators voting in favor: 45 Republicans, 30 Democrats; 1 Independent: King.

Senators voting against: 8 Democrats:  Brown, Gillibrand, Harris, Menendez, Schumer, Stabenow, Udall and Van Hollen.

Senators not voting:8 Republicans: Cassidy, Cramer, Graham, Inhofe, Kennedy, Risch, Scott of South Carolina and Toomey; 7 Democrats: Bennet, Booker, Durbin, Klobuchar, Markey, Warner and Warren; 1 Independent: Sanders.

5:31 p.m. Roll call vote began on cloture on the Gaynor nomination.

5:20 p.m. Senator Johnson spoke about the Gaynor nomination.

4:37 p.m. Senator Harris spoke about impeachment.

4:22 p.m. Minority Leader Schumer spoke about impeachment.

3:34 p.m. Senator Cornyn spoke about impeachment.

3:06 p.m. Majority Leader McConnell spoke about Iran. He spoke about impeachment.

The Senate will convene at 3 p.m and will resume consideration of the nomination of Peter Gaynor to be administrator of FEMA with a cloture vote to occur on the nomination at 5:30 p.m.