Monday, March 27, 2023

6:27 p.m. Senator Whitehouse paid tribute to Judge Gladys Kessler and then began wrap-up:

  • S. Res. 123, A resolution recognizing the week of March 19 through March 25, 2023, as “National Poison Prevention Week” and encouraging communities across the United States to raise awareness of the dangers of poisoning and promote poison prevention, was agreed to by unanimous consent.

6:26 p.m. By a vote of 65-28, the Senate invoked cloture on S. 316, Repealing the authorizations for use of military force against Iraq. Republican senators voting in favor: Braun, Budd, Cassidy, Collins, Cramer, Daines, Grassley, Hawley, Hoeven, Lee, Lummis, Marshall, Moran, Murkowski, Paul, Schmitt, Vance, and Young. Senators not voting: Barrasso, Blackburn, Coons, Feinstein, Fetterman, McConnell, and Padilla.

5:33 p.m. The Senate began a roll call vote on the motion to invoke cloture on S. 316, the repeal the authorizations for use of military force against Iraq.

5:29 p.m. Senator Menendez spoke the Iraq AUMF repeal.

5:11 p.m. Senator Reed spoke about the Iraq AUMF repeal.

4:58 p.m. Senator Graham spoke about the Iraq AUMF repeal.

4:17 p.m. Senator Cornyn spoke about the Iraq AUMF repeal.

4:00 p.m. ML Schumer filed cloture on Executive Calendar #28, S. 870, A bill to amend the Federal Fire Prevention and Control act of 1974 to authorize appropriations for the United States Fire Administration and firefighter assistance grant programs.

3:46 p.m. ML Schumer spoke about the Nashville elementary school shooting, Israel, the AUMF repeal, military promotions, Medicaid, student debt, H.R. 1 and Russia.

3:06 p.m. Senator Durbin spoke about the Nashville Elementary School Shooting and the AUMF Repeal.

3:00 p.m. The Senate convened.


The Senate will convene at 3:00 p.m. and following any Leader remarks will resume consideration of S.316, to repeal the authorizations for use of military force against Iraq.

At approximately 5:30 p.m., the Senate will vote on cloture on S.316.

If cloture is invoked, at a time to be determined on Tuesday March 28th, the Senate will vote in relation to the following amendments, if offered, at 60 vote thresholds:    
1. Sullivan amdt #33
2. Scott (FL) amdt #13
3. Ricketts amdt #30
4. Cruz amdt #9
5. Hawley amdt #40
6. Johnson amdt #11