Wednesday, February 5, 2020

5:14 p.m. The Senate adjourned and will next convene on Thursday, February 6 at 11:30 a.m. for a pro forma session only. Then, the Senate will next convene on Monday, February 10 at 3:00 p.m. Following leader remarks, the Senate will resume consideration of the Brasher nomination.

During wrap-up:

S.Res. 493, Legal Counsel, was adopted by unanimous consent.

5:06 p.m. Majority Leader McConnell filed cloture on the the following nominations:

  • exec. cal. #562 Andrew Lynn Brasher, AL, to be U.S. Circuit Judge for the Eleventh Circuit
  • exec. cal. #563 Joshua M. Kindred, AK, to be U.S. District Judge for the District of Alaska
  • exec. cal. #565 Matthew Thomas Schelp, MO, to be U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of Missouri
  • exec. cal. #461 Joshua Fitzgerald Kness, IL, to be U.S. District Judge for the Northern District of Illinois.
  • exec. cal. #535 Philip M. Halpern, NY, to be U.S. District Judge for the Southern District of New York.

4:40 p.m. The Court of Impeachment adjourned sine die.

4:38 p.m. Chief Justice Roberts thanked the Senate.

4:36 p.m. Democratic Leader Schumer also thanked support staff and Senate Pages.

4:33 p.m. Majority Leader McConnell thanked Chief Justice Roberts and gifted him a gavel. He also thanked support staff and Senate Pages.

4:31 p.m. On Article II of impeachment, Obstruction of Justice, President Trump was found not guilty by a vote of 47 to 53.

4:24 p.m. Roll call began on Article II, Obstruction of Congress.

4:19 p.m. The Clerk read Article II, Obstruction of Congress

4:18 p.m. On Article I of impeachment, abuse of power, President Trump was found not guilty by a vote of 48 to 52.

4:09 p.m. Roll call began on Article I, Abuse of Power.

4:04 p.m. The Clerk read Article I, Abuse of Power.

4:03 p.m. The Senate convened as a court of impeachment.

3:49 p.m. Majority Leader McConnell spoke on impeachment.

3:31 p.m. Democratic Leader Schumer spoke on impeachment.

3:23 p.m. Senator Graham spoke on impeachment.

3:11 p.m. Senator Durbin spoke on impeachment.

3:05 p.m. Senator Shelby spoke on impeachment.

2:53 p.m. Senator Leahy spoke on impeachment.

2:43 p.m. Senator Gardner spoke on impeachment.

2:31 p.m. Senator Coons spoke on impeachment.

2:15 p.m. Senator Scott spoke on impeachment.

2:01 p.m. Senator Romney spoke on impeachment.

1:52 p.m. Senator Murphy spoke on impeachment.

1:41 p.m. Senator Baldwin spoke on impeachment.

1:22 p.m. Senator Bennet spoke on immigration, Senate process, and impeachment.

1:14 p.m. Senator Hirono spoke on impeachment.

1:04 p.m. Senator Brown spoke on impeachment.

12:55 p.m. Senator Risch spoke on impeachment.

12:42 p.m. Senator Hyde-Smith spoke on impeachment.

12:29 p.m. Senator Cramer spoke on impeachment.

12:12 p.m. Senator Lee spoke on impeachment.

12:02 p.m. Senator Blunt spoke on impeachment.

11:45 a.m. Senator Duckworth spoke on impeachment.

11:36 a.m. Senator Reed spoke on impeachment.

11:23 a.m. Senator Jones spoke about impeachment.

11:14 a.m. Senator Hassan spoke about impeachment.

11:03 a.m. Senator Harris spoke about impeachment.

10:55 a.m. Senator Sasse entered into the record an op-ed he wrote that was printed in the Omaha World Herald today.

10:37 a.m. Senator Alexander spoke about impeachment.

10:31 a.m. Senator Hawley spoke about impeachment.

9:56 a.m. Senator Cornyn spoke about impeachment.

9:47 a.m. Minority Leader Schumer spoke about the president’s State of the Union speech.

9:34 a.m. Senator Merkley spoke about impeachment.

9:32 a.m. Senator Grassley spoke.

  • The Senate will convene at 9:30 a.m. for speeches of up to 10 minutes. Speeches on impeachment will go into the record of the trial.
  • At 4 p.m., the Senate will reconvene as the court of impeachment for the trial of President Trump.
  • Pursuant to S.Res.488, the Senate will then vote on the articles of impeachment:
  • Article I: Abuse of Power
  • Article II: Obstruction of Congress
  • The Senate is not expected to be in session on Thursday, February 6, and Friday, February 7.