Monday, July 22, 2019

6:43 p.m. The Senate adjourned.

6:34 p.m. Senator Boozman spoke in tribute to Officer Mike Steven and later on the Hunger free summer for kids act.

6:32 p.m. ML McConnell began wrap up: passed S 1199, Public Health Service Act, as amended by voice vote. ML McConnell asked u.c. that when the Senate adjourn today it meet next at 10:00 am on Tuesday and the Senate proceed to H.R. 1327, to extend authorization for the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund of 2001 through fiscal year 2092, and for other purposes.

6:17 p.m. Senator Casey spoke about health care.

6:12 p.m. Cloture was invoked on the Esper nomination, 85-6.

Senators voting against: 6 Democrats: Harris, Klobuchar, Markey, Merkley, Warren and Wyden.

Senators not voting: 5 Republicans: Isakson, Kennedy, Moran, Murkowski, Toomey; 3 Democrats: Bennet, Booker, Gillibrand; 1 Independent: Sanders.

5:30 p.m. The Senate began a roll call vote on the motion to invoke cloture on the nomination of Mark Esper to be Secretary of Defense.

4:46 p.m. Senator Van Hollen spoke honoring Judy Schneider.

4:29 p.m. Senator Cornyn spoke about border security.

4:24 p.m. ML McConnell spoke supporting the Esper nomination.

3:03 p.m. Senator Grassley spoke on the Canada/Mexico trade agreement.

3:02 p.m. The following bills had their second reading:

  • HR 582 minimum wage increase
  • HR 748 repeal of excise tax on employer sponsored health care

3:00 p.m. The Senate convened.


The Senate will convene at 3:00 p.m.

Following Leader remarks, the Senate will resume consideration of Executive Calendar #374, Mark Esper to be Secretary of Defense.

At 5:30pm, the Senate will vote on the motion to invoke cloture on the Esper nomination.

Majority Leader McConnell also filed cloture on the following nominations:

  1. Stephen Dickson to be Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration
  2. Wendy Berger to be United States District Judge for the Middle District of Florida
  3. Brian Buescher to be United States District Judge of Nebraska

Tuesday, July 23rd at 12:00 Noon – 2 roll call votes:

1.       Confirmation of the Esper nomination

2.       Cloture on the Dickson nomination

Tuesday, July 23rd at 2:30pm – 3 roll call votes:

1.       Lee Amendment #928 to H.R. 1327, (limit amount available) [60 vote threshold]

2.       Paul Amendment #929 to H.R. 1327, (pay-for 10years projected costs) [60 vote threshold]

3.       Passage of to H.R. 1327, Permanent Authorization of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund Act