Monday, February 24, 2020

7:52 p.m. The Senate adjourned.

7:49 p.m. Senator Ernst wrapped up for the evening. Passed by UC: S Res 481 regarding the 75th anniversary of the liberationof Auschwitz.

7:04 p.m. Senators Daines, Ernst, Sasse and Braun engaged in a colloquy on abortion.

6:31 p.m. Senator Menendez spoke on election interference.

6:09 p.m. Senators Cruz, Murray and Shaheen spoke on abortion.

6:08 p.m. Cloture was invoked on the Malloy nomination, 88-1. Senator Hirono voted against.

Senators not voting: 4 Democrats: Feinstein, Klobuchar, Markey and Warren; 6 Republicans: Burr, Cramer, McSally, Murkowski, Rubio and Toomey; 1 Independent: Sanders.

5:35 p.m. Roll call vote began on cloture on the nomination of Robert Malloy to be District Judge for the US Virgin Islands.

5:30 p.m. Senator Wyden spoke on abortion.

5:20 p.m. Senator Collins spoke on and passed by unanimous consent, S.995 the Lifespan Respite Care Reauthorization Act of 2019.

5:07 p.m. Democratic Leader Schumer spoke on Coronavirus, the Justice Department, and Russian election interference.

5:00 p.m. Senator Cotton spoke on abortion.

4:55 p.m. Senator Moran spoke about disabled veterans.

4:46 p.m. Senator Boozman spoke about Disabled American Veterans.

4:25 p.m. Senator Cornyn spoke about abortion and constituent concerns.

4:04 p.m. Senator Casey spoke on Black History Month.

3:57 p.m. Majority Leader McConnell paid tribute to the retiring Director of National Intelligence Director Joseph Maguire. He spoke about nominations.

3:02 p.m. Senator Grassley recognized Senator Baldwin for the annual reading of George Washington’s farewell address.

The Senate will convene at 3:00 p.m., at which time Senator Baldwin will be recognized to deliver President Washington’s Farewell Address.

Following the reading, the Senate will resume consideration of the nomination of Robert Molloy to be a Judge for the District Court of the Virgin Islands, with a cloture vote on the nomination at 5:30 p.m.

Majority Leader McConnell has also filed cloture on the following:

  • Silvia Carreno-Coll to be a Judge for the District of Puerto Rico.
  • Katharine MacGregor to be Deputy Secretary of the Interior.
  • Travis Greaves to be a Judge for the United States Tax Court.
  • Motion to proceed to S.3275 regarding abortion.
  • Motion to proceed to S. 311 regarding abortion.