Monday, December 7, 2015

5:00 p.m. The Senate moved to executive session to consider calendar number 214, Travis Randall McDonough, of Tennessee, to be US District Judge for the Eastern District of Tennessee.

4:40 p.m. Senator Corker spoke on gun violence. He then asked UC for the confirmation of calendar number 373, Kenneth Damain Ward, of VA, to be a Career Member of the Senior Executive Service, for the rank of Ambassador during his tenure if service as the US Representative to the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons and 374, Linda Etim, of Wisconsin, to be an Assistant Administrator of the United States Agency for International Development to occur by voice vote immediately following the 5:30 roll call vote on the McDonough nomination.

4:00 p.m. Leader McConnell asked for the second reading of S. 2359, regarding second amendment rights in the District of Columbia. He objected to further proceedings and the legislation was placed on the calendar. He then spoke on President Obama’s press release and his lack of a plan to defeat terrorists.

3:30 p.m. Senator Durbin spoke on gun violence and legislation of gun sales.

2:26 p.m. Senator Nelson spoke in favor of expanding government access to bulk data collection.

2:20 p.m. Senator Peters spoke in praise of the Transportation bill passed last week.

2:02 p.m. Senator Reid spoke about the Senate schedule and a Democratic legislative proposal to address terrorism threats.

2:00 p.m. The Senate convened at 2:00 p.m. and will be in a period of morning business until 5:00 p.m.

At 5:00 p.m., the Senate will proceed to Executive Session in order to consider the nomination of Travis McDonough to be a US District Judge for the Eastern District of Tennessee, with a vote expected on confirmation of the nomination at approximately 5:30 p.m.

Senator McConnell filed cloture on the conference report to accompany the Every Child Achieves Act (S. 1177) during Thursday’s session.  Absent a time agreement, that cloture vote will occur one hour after the Senate convenes on Tuesday, December 8, 2015.